A Year in Book Reviews

For the last few years I’ve been an avid reader; even more so the last two years as I traveled for work a ton. When you’re stuck in an airport for hours on end, “Hudson News” becomes your best friend.

Last year five of the books I read were pretty amazing and I promoted them as often as possible. By no means am I a book critic but I thought I’d share my list and why I think you should read at least one of the books.

Here is my list – in no particular order because I really couldn’t put them in a favorite order:

  1. Thief by Maureen Gibbon – A striking book about a women who takes some time off from her life to learn about herself, an inmate pen-pal, and a drifter cowboy lover. Makes for an interesting read. It’s 182 pages and I think I read it in two days. I couldn’t put it down.
  2. On Borrowed Wings by Chandra Prasad – If my life depended on it, this would have been my number one choice. I hope someone in Hollywood reads this and makes it a movie. A young womans father and brother die in a mining accident. Her brother had been accepted to Yale in a time when women weren’t exactly accepted into higher education. She assumes her brothers identity and the story takes you on her journey through Yale in the 1930’s and her struggles. It’s an amazing read. It makes you think about what women have accomplished and where determination to leave behind a small town will take you.
  3. American Gods by Neil Gaiman – This was a challenging read for me because it touches on so much more than just a story. Life, death, Gods, and most importantly human nature. Are we a good society or a bad one? How do you decide your self-worth? What in life is important to you? It follows a man’s journey thorough life and death and the choices many people are faced with and the questions that go along with making choices. I really liked the discussion questions at the end of the book. They absolutely helped me think even more about the story. Read this if you haven’t already!
  4. A Dirty Job by Christopher Moore – Hysterical. This story is about a guy who lost his wife while she was giving birth to their daughter and somehow he becomes Death. Moore is an amazing satirical writer and I loved every second of this book. So much so, in fact, that I went out and bought three more of Moore’s books because I like his writing so much.
  5. The Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank – This one is not about hunting or fishing in the way that you would think. It’s about the hunting and fishing in relationships. The men one woman chooses throughout her life. I bought it at a used book store and it was a great choice for me.

I am Not a Serial Killer and Mr. Monster by Dan Wells. These two are a series. And lastly, A Wolf at the Table by Augusten Burroughs. This is a brilliant book. That is all I can say.

I think we forget sometimes how delicate the human condition is. With books like these available to read, I don’t really understand how many people don’t spend more time reading it. If you aren’t an avid reader, any one of these books should be intriguing enough to hold your attention just once.

Happy reading!

-C

This entry was published on February 17, 2012 at 10:55 pm. It’s filed under Rants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Tell me something...

