Old or Wiser

Oh Memorial day. It’s a glorious weekend. The sun is shining, there is some wind blowing, but its the first weekend where the night-time was warm… and a little balmy. The bars forgot to turn the a/c on.

Last night, a friend of mine had his “Moving to New York City” party all over downtown Denver. I enjoy going to bars. I like the loud music, I enjoy a few Stoli Sodas, I enjoy the people watching, and mostly I enjoy dancing like an idiot on occasion just because I can. Every now and again, I get anxious in a bar… like last night. I enlisted my good friend to come with me so we could either stay with the group or move on with our own evening.

First bar we went, Tavern Downtown, was fun. We were upstairs on the roof, chatting to people I havent seen in a little while. I got to talk to my friend about his upcoming move. It was lovely. After a few hours here the group went to the Retro Room, which is an awesome place. They make their own vodka infused with flavors like pickles, pineapples, cherry’s, and above all – a scorpion shot… including a scorpion at the bottom of the glass – can’t say I tried this though. By the time we got here it was 10ish maybe. It started getting crowded. Hot. And I’m not a big fan of being pushed in a bar. What happens to manners when the bar gets full? They fly out the window.

My friend and I decided to leave. I said Goodbye to NY Bound and we hit the road with some girlfriends that joined us. Maloney’s was the next place. I like to call it the “Meat Market”. On any given weekend evening, the place is packed to the max with loud, drunk singles. Typically, I like this. Recently, I’ve found myself looking for the mellow place I can have a drink and a conversation and wake up the next morning and go to the gym or hit a yoga class. I have a life and stuff to do, and hangovers are not conducive to my life.

Does this make me old? Or wise? I said “old” last night. I couldn’t wait to get out of Maloney’s. It took 25 minutes to get a drink and by the time I got it, paid for it and took my first sip, I could have lit my mouth on fire with a lighter. I actually gave away my $7 vodka soda to a stranger. I looked at my friend and said “I have to get out of here.” So concurred. So we got the H-E- double hockey sticks out of there and went to grab pizza at Two-fisted Marios. That was nice. While busy, and kind of loud, we were able to talk and eat our pizza and not get pushed around. Cab ride home, a quick nap and back home for me it was.

I want to mention, that despite the complaints here, I had a great night. Catching up with people is one of my favorite things to do. Having a few drinks with my girlfriends and guy friends is great. Having the chance to say “Congratulations. Have so much fun.” to someone relatively new to my life, was my pleasure.

It’s just, reacting this way to a perfectly normal night on the town, got me thinking… Am I old, or just wiser?

This morning, in retrospect, I think that I am just wiser. I’ve found that my days belong to me and I want to enjoy them as much as I can. The bar scene isn’t old for me yet, but I think that I can better choose my locations. Besides… the meat market is full of 22-25 year olds… what-the-heck am I going to do with that?

Happy Memorial Day Weekend to our Military men and women.  Thank you for giving me the opportunity to find out my likes and dislikes about life and people and the ability to write this down for others to read.

-C

This entry was published on May 27, 2012 at 9:21 am. It’s filed under Rants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Tell me something...

